## JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION

VOL. XXIV JUNE, 1935 No. 6

## THE CHAIRMAN OF THE PLANT SCIENCE SEMINAR.

Frank H. Eby, chairman of the Plant Science Seminar, 1934–1935, was born in Lancaster County, Pa., in 1896, a few miles from where his early Pennsylvania Dutch ancestors settled in 1715. Here he received his early education and also served his first years of apprenticeship in pharmacy. Later, he was employed in the stores of George B. Evans and William J. Pechin of Philadelphia. In 1919, he received his diploma from the School of Pharmacy of Temple University and, in 1921, he was awarded the degree of Doctor in Pharmacy from the same institution.

Professor Eby has been a member of the faculty of Temple University since 1920 and at present is professor of Botany and Pharmacognosy in the School of Pharmacy.

He served as secretary of the Philadelphia Branch of the American Pharmaceutical Association in 1929–1930 and as president of the Branch in 1933–1934. He is a member of the Pennsylvania Pharmaceutical Association and has held membership on a number of committees of this organization; at present he is chairman of the Committee on Biology and Pharmacognosy. He is a member of the Committee on Materia Medica, Boards of Pharmacy and Colleges of Pharmacy, District No. 2.

During the World War Mr. Eby served as a pharmacist in the Navy. He is past-commander of the local Legion post, a member of the Blue Key Fraternity, Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity and has always taken an active part in Boy Scout affairs.

Professor Eby married Dorothy M. Keller of Harrisburg in 1921; they have one son.

Officers of the Plant Science Seminar: Chairman, Frank H. Eby; Vice-Chairman, L. K. Darbaker; Secretary-Treasurer, F. J. Bacon; Executive Committee, C. E. F. Mollett, E. B. Fischer. Founded 1925, Founder, E. L. Newcomb.



FRANK H. EBY.